Have you purchased yours?

Ian Horrocks

Co-Founder, Oxford Semantic Technologies Prof. Ian Horrocks is the leading authority on reasoning systems and semantic technologies, leads the Data and Knowledge research group at the University of Oxford, and is a co-founder of Oxford Semantic Technologies.

About this speaker

Ian has dedicated his academic career to knowledge representation and reasoning, with a focus on the development of algorithms, ontology languages, and reasoning systems.

He was an author of the OWL ontology language standards and chaired the W3C group that standardised OWL 2, having developed many of the algorithms and optimisation techniques that underpin OWL. A true pioneer, he played a significant role in establishing the Semantic Web as a serious research field and industry staple.

He is a Fellow of the Royal Society, a member of Academia Europaea, a fellow of the European Association for Artificial Intelligence (EurAI), a Fellow of the Alan Turing Institute and a British Computer Society Lovelace Medalist.

Ian has contributed to the development of several widely used reasoning systems including FaCT++, HermiT, Elk and most recently, RDFox. He has published more than 300 papers in major international conferences and journals, winning best paper prizes at KR-98, AAAI-2010, and IJCAI-2017, and test of time awards at ISWC-2013, KR-2020 and CADE-2021. He is one of the UK’s most highly cited computer scientists, with more than 56,000 citations, and an h-index of 98.

Contact This Speaker


The Momentum Behind Semantic Reasoning and Why It’s Here to Stay

01 December 2021, 01:00 PM
Tara Raafat Marcus Nölke Haonan Qiu Peter Crocker Ora Lassila Ian Horrocks

Workshops & Masterclasses are published!

18 December 2021, 12:00 PM
Bo Wang Jeff Tang Michael Watson Michael Uschold Tiernan Ray Evan Sparks Haonan Qiu Paramita Mirza Alan Morrison Bob van Luijt Ivo Velitchkov Tara Raafat Jörg Schad Tanya Beck Johannes Frey Heather Hedden Kirell Benzi Panos Papadopoulos Ian Horrocks James Phare Andrea Volpini Jerry Michalski Mikhail Galkin Paraskevi Zerva Jason Barnard Raghu Prabhakar Konstantin Vinogradov Ashleigh Faith Clair Sullivan Sergei Ivanov Zhaocheng Zhu Carlo Luschi Dawn Anderson Val G. Cook Chence Shi Abhishek Gupta Ora Lassila Katariina Kari Milan Dojchinovski Mike Atkin Andreea Deac Panos Alexopoulos Zuobai Zhang Charles Hoyt George Anadiotis Ebru Cucen Cindy Krum Jan Forberg Paco Nathan Marcus Nölke Peter Crocker Tiffany Callahan